top of page

Dry Skin, Stress and Skin Irritations

As many New Englanders, I am prone to get tight, dry, irritated and sensitive skin this time of year. Now add the stress of all that is happening in the world, plus some poor eating... and well, my went from dry and irritated to having some terrible patches of rough, irritated skin.


Early December, just as it starts to do each year, my skin started to become dry to the touch from environmental stressors. The cold weather, then there is the heat in our homes, offices and cars that further dry our skin. Add to it a nice hot shower, which may feel amazing, but will only further dry your skin. So personally, I don't take hot showers, I use a humidifier in my home, and in the car I only turn the heat vents on my feet to keep the hot air off my face and hands to prevent the added dryness that can come from these little habits.


Now add, stress, quarantine masks, and pour food choices, and our skin will freak out further. Dryness, patches of red, stressed and irritated skin, dryness and acne. So how do we care for extremely stressed skin? I will dive deep into an anti-inflammatory diet, rich healing and nourishing carrier oils, powerful plant medicines.


Turmeric- Turmeric is a fabulous ancient spice (it is believed it may have been the gold the Wiseman gave to Jesus).

If you do a quick search of turmeric you will learn turmeric has hundreds of studied on the anti-inflammatory properties of both the spice and the essential oil. DoTERRA has created a powerful supplement that combines the turmeric powder and essential oil, because our bodies will absorb and utilize the nutrients of the supplement better when the spice and the oil are taken together. I take this supplement daily in the morning to reduce inflammation. Inflammation is the base of all disease, and when it comes to skin, it can be seen with redness and swelling, this could be redness and swelling of red sensitive skin but also of acne. So taking this supplement daily will help reduce inflammation.

Other Anti-Inflammatory Foods- I find Bone Broth Soup to be one of the most powerful anti-inflammatory foods. It calms and soothes the body from the inside out. I also love to consume fermented foods like sauerkraut and kombucha.



Nourish and Feed the Skin- Rich creams, oils and nourishing skincare is key to healing broken, irritated and stressed skin. We must focus our skincare on feeding and nourishing then skin.



Oatmeal Scrub- I love my oatmeal scrub for nourishing my skin, but when my skin is irritated, I do not utilize it as a manual scrub. I simply apply this lovely mask to my face and let the oatmeal and yogurt soften and heal my skin.


Seaweed Nourishing Mask- I LOVE my nourishing seaweed mask. It is so easy to make as it is equal parts yogurt, honey and french green clay with a few drops each of geranium and clary sage essential oils. This mask will pull out impurities in the skin, help heal acne, while nourishing and feeding the skin! This mask is incredible.


Rich, Soothing Carrier Oils- There are tons of nourishing natural oils that will feed, heal and soothe an irritated and dry skin type. Some of the top oils would be Olive Oil, Argan Oil, Raw Coconut Oil, Grapeseed, Jojoba, Evening Primrose, Shea Butter, Cocoa Butter, Sweet Almond and Avocado oil. Any of these are nutrient rich, healing and soothing for a dry, sensitive, or mature skin type. I love to apply these oils several times though out the day, but a game changing habit is to use a carrier oil as a pre-cleansing wash. To do this, use a dime size amount of oil and massage it into your face and neck. This will loosen up dirt, debris and makeup while also nourishing the skin and leaving it softer after you wash your face with your cleanse. After cleaning apply a small amount of oil to your skin to feed and nourish the skin.


Shea Butter- Shea Butter is a rich cream like oil which is thick and nourishing. Massaging shea butter to the skin will nourish, soften and smooth your skin.


Essential Oils- Some of my favorite oil are ones that will calm, sooth and nourish the skin. My top oils are lavender, Frankincense, Myrrh, Rose, Blue Tansy and Rosemary. These are all calming, soothing and healing and several of these oils will help with cellular renewal and healing.


After a while of being consistent and persistent of these daily habits, you skin will change greatly.

Of course if you need further assistance, please email or call me to schedule your complimentary skincare consulting appointment to discuss your skin issues and concerns.



bottom of page