top of page

Immune Supporting Oils


If you know doTERRA, you know we have a protective blend that is a combination of the top, scientifically supported, essential oils that boost our immune system: Orange, Clove, Cinnamon, Eucalyptus and Rosemary. But there are so many oils that can support our body and our overall health and immunity. As we face uncertain times, knowing how to use other oils that you may have sitting on a shelf in your home, is very important. Every oil contains unique properties that can boost support our bodies, and learning more about them may come in handy. On Guard is an awesome blend, and so versatile. It can be diffused to purify the air, applied topically or taken internally to support our bodies immune system. It also can be used to clean and disinfect our homes and work spaces. But as I recently learned, over the past few weeks, On Guard sales have gone up over 400% and currently doTERRA is out of stock of many of the On Guard product.

Of the over 120 essential oils doTERRA produces, all have natural properties that will support your body systems and many will support our natural immunity. Here are just 6 of my personal favorites. They are amazing oils that can support our bodies and environment.

Lemon: Lemon essential oil is a bright, uplifting, happy citrus oil. You open a bottle and inhale it, and it is hard not to smile when you smell this fresh and brilliant oil. Lemon has powerful antiseptic, disinfectant, antifungal, antiviral, and antioxidant properties. It can be used to support our bodies as well as clean our homes. I love to make homemade cleaning products (hand soap, furniture polish, multipurpose cleaner ect...) with lemon essential oil because it is such an incredible cleaner. Lemon is excellent for lifting sticky substances (think any yucky thing your kid can put on furniture, or even gum in hair), seriously, just a few drops of lemon essential oil is the go to, rub the oil straight on the sticky thing, and this incredible natural fix will lift the sticky residue in seconds!!!!

I love to diffuse it regularly in different blends as it will purify the air, lift mood, and support the respiratory and immune systems. Internally, I start my day with a glass of water with 1 drop of lemon in it to gently detoxify and support my body on a daily basis. I also love to mix a few drops of lemon essential oil in a small bottle of honey. (local honey of course, from my father- the beekeeper), to make a DIY homemade cough syrup or to use in tea.

Clove: Clove is absolutely one of my favorite oils. It is a warm, spicy oil, with a comforting and calming aroma. I love to diffuse this oil with citrus oils to cleanse and detoxify the air. Plus it adds such a warm, welcoming spice to the air, that I love to fill my home with the smell of clove. Clove contains powerful antioxidant and cleansing properties. It is excellent for gum health, supports a healthy oral environment, and quickly reduces pain, anything from a tooth ache to muscle aches and pains. Not this is a hotter oil so if you want to treat a toothache, put one drop in some water and gargle with it, or put a drop in some olive oil and gently massage it onto the area with tooth pain. I love to massage a few drops on a tight muscle because it warms the muscle and helps it reduce tension. Personally I like that clove heats up the skin, but if it is too much for you, just massage a carrier oil into your skin to calm the warming effect of the oil.

Clove essential oil also supports cardiovascular health when taken internally. I love this oil to boost immunity. When I am feeling a little tickle in my throat, I add a drop to my coffee or tea. (sometimes I add a drop of orange and clove together- so yummy!!!) Often one or two cups like this and that tickle usually goes away!

Copaiba: Since DoTERRA introduced Copaiba, I quickly fell in love and it had definitely become one of my favorite oils because of all the ways it supports so many body functions and systems! It supports the respiratory system when diffused, It soothes anxious feeling, and calms the nervous system, soothes aches and pains, soothes and heals skin, and it supports the immune and cardiovascular systems when taken internally. This literally is one of the most used oils in my house, because it serves so many purposes! I like to take a copaiba softgel daily to support my body systems, and I tend to take it at bedtime because it also calms my mind & body. It soothes anxiety and the worries of the day, promotes relaxation and eases tension of tight muscles. Then when I diffuse serenity in my bedroom at night, I quickly fall asleep and maintain a solid restful sleep all night. If I see symptoms of a cold popping up in my house, I add a drop or two to the diffuser blend to support the respiratory system. This is a powerful player in the plant medicine book.

Oregano: If you joined with a kit of the top ten oils, then you got oregano. And its quite possible, you have never even opened this oil yet!!! That is because it really an oil we use only when we are sick or to add flavor in cooking.

Oregano is the ultimate Powerhouse in Plant Medicine for immunity. It has antibacterial, antiviral, antifungal & antiparasitic properties. It supports the respiratory and immune systems. This oil, smells like the herb, and is very strong. You will smell like an Italian restaurant or pizza when you use it, but if you need it, USE IT!!!! Oregano is a hot oil, which means it could burn your skin if you do not dilute it before applying it to the skin. Whenever you use this oil, whether topically or internally it is best to mix it with a carrier oil. When using topically I will put one drop oregano into about a teaspoon of carrier oil. If you are looking to boost your immunity, apply the oil to the bottoms of your feet and spine, twice a day for at least 10 days to strengthen your immune response to environmental threats. When using it internally, put it in a veggie capsule with a carrier oil. I often mix it with 2 drops of the following oils -On Guard, Frankincense, lemon and melalueca (tea tree) to boost immunity. This can be taken daily as your supplement to maintain a healthy & wellness, or taken in a time of need. If you are feeling an environmental threat, take this blend a least twice daily to further support your body, for at least 7 days after symptoms have subsided.

Douglas Fir: The fir oils are wonderful at supporting the respiratory system, soothing muscles, aches and pains and supporting the bodies immune defenses. It is also a very grounding oil that soothes anxiety and nervousness. I love to blend Douglas Fir with a carrier oil and rub it on my chest, neck, back, spine and feet to support my natural immune defenses. (I often blend it with eucalyptus, lemon, lavender and peppermint when I do this) I also enjoy diffusing it to clean the air and fill the home with the delicious aroma of the forest!

Helichrysum: I love helichrysum. It is one of the more expensive oils, but it is a powerful, and effective oil. This beauty has antibacterial, antiviral, antioxidant, anticoagulant, antispasmodic and expectorant properties. It is an impressive form of plant medicine. It has a sweet, rich earthy aroma with notes of honey and tea. I love how it supports the circulatory system. It is excellent for detoxifying the body and stimulating liver cell function. It eases pain, soothes respiratory issue and is wonderful for the skin, due to its healing, soothing and regenerating qualities. I only have this oil in a roller bottle that I got as one of the holiday specials this year (trio gift set of serenity, balance and helichrysum- all excellent oils, and this set is still available under special offers for $65 for wholesale.) So if I were using this oil to boost immunity, I would roll it on the bottoms of my feet & spine daily. If I felt I needed additional detoxification, I may also roll it on my stomach, over my liver. I personally love the smell and it is a wonderful skin oil, so I do roll it on my hands and then inhale it, then I massage it into my face, neck and chest. It is important to take a nice deep breath and inhale your oils as you put them on, as, this allows you to take advantage of the powerful effect essential oils can have on the mind and body, and to experience the profound and immediate reactions our body has to aromatic and topical use. The healing powers of these energetic and mighty plants that adaptogenicly work in our incredible bodies is breathtaking. When I do this I often feel a calm come over my body immediately, knowing I am supporting myself naturally, with the best oils available.

Now if you are running low on On Guard supplies, maybe you have one of these incredible oils, or another outstanding oil with unbelievable plant based medicine to support your body.

Just do some research, learn about the properties of your oils, and how they can support your body. And of course make sure you are using only the highest quality oils that will actually do what you expect of them. How do you know DoTERRA oils are the best? Well, essential oils are an unregulated industry, and honestly it is like the wild west out there as far as knowing the purity of the oils you are using. Because it is an unregulated industry, and oil can be labeled 100% Pure, and actually be up to 70% adulterated!!! What does that mean- it maybe an essential oil perfume- distilled at a high heat and lacking all healing qualities, It could be a lesser/ cheaper oil that doesn't interact in the body the same way as the oil it is being touted as, or it could actually be synthetic!!!(aka chemically based, lab created, not natural at all!!!) To set ourselves apart form the competition, DoTERRA oils are CPTG (Certified Pure Theraputic Grade). Meaning they are as pure as they can possibly be. No chemical, no preservatives, no synthetic fillers,contaminants or anything else. Our oils are rigorously tested for purity by a third party, and we publish the third party results, so you, the consumer can take control and be knowledgeable/ confident that you are truly using a purest essential oils on the market.

Below are a few links to help you learn more about purity of essential oils.

So make sure you have the purest, best oils you can to support your body optimally.

P.S- I highly recommend getting a copy of Modern Essential book or The Essential Life book. Both of these are fabulous resources. They help educate on oils, blends, how they can be used to support the body, and even have recipes, science and so much more. You can find either of these books online. They have apps that are helpful but the books are fantastic to have on hand, and provide even more information than the app

bottom of page