top of page

Stop, Meditate and Listen...


My son is in kindergarten, and rather struggling with days full of being told to what to do, and when to do it. The past few weeks have been insanely challenging for him, his teachers, me and my husband. So one night a little over a week ago, I took my cellphone out and opened my meditation app (Insight Timer). We sat in his bed and did a short two minute meditation using calming "delicious belly breathes." (as the woman guiding the meditation says, and as my son now calls them) & focusing on kind thoughts. Amazingly, he loved it, and the next morning he crawled into my bed at 6am, and asked to do some more meditation.

We have continued to do meditation every morning, and nearly every evening. Deep belly breathes in with the good and out with the bad...opening our minds and hearts to kindness, findings a peaceful land while cuddling and connecting. Morning and night... leading to a calmer mind.

I am not saying our challenges and struggles have stopped. In all honestly, this afternoon was not great, but he did have a good day at school and that is what matters. He needs to improve how his teachers and classmates see him, and how he presents himself. Meditation is helping him. With baby steps, he can hear his heart... We are trying to teach him that he can use his belly breathe to calm himself at school and diffuse a tense or difficult situation... I am not sure if he has tried it yet, but I am happy he is willing to discuss it.

So What would happen if you downloaded an app and started meditating tonight? Could you learn to listen to your heart, your mind, your spirit guides.... Could you find new worlds, or a special way to drift into the deepest most amazing sleep... or perhaps you will use meditation to improve your over all health- lower blood pressure, reduce anxiety and depression... Would you try? So many people worry and say, "I can't meditate, I can't clear my mind, I would go nuts!" but those people do not get it, meditation is not truly about clearing the mind, it is more about calming it, finding balance, listening to your body, becoming in tune with yourself, so that in time, if you are in a stressful situation, (traffic/road rage,work, ect...) you can do a meditation to align yourself in seconds, with your eyes open, and just focusing on breathe. Just breathing can puts you back into perfect harmony, or help you you regain control in seconds. Also you must give yourself grace. Meditating with a 5 year old is not the perfect image of a little guy sitting crossed legged with his hand on his knees, palm up... rather he wiggles, he talked, he cuddles and goofs around... he doesn't truly get all of what we do, but he is excited, and he is connecting, and that is what truly matters. As an adult, when you are trying to meditate, know thoughts may flow into your mind, do your best to push it aside and focus on your breathe, but know, thoughts will continue to come in...do not expect perfection... just be. Just breathe and listen- to the guide, the music, your breathe, your body...

I have found building a ritual of meditation helps my sleep, my focus, my inner peace and happiness. It is helping my little dude... How could it how you?

Please comment, let me know if you try and what you think.

**please note I am not paid or compensated for mentioning Insight Timer, it is just my favorite meditation app, because it has so many meditations/ classes and styles of meditation,and it is free! That said, there are many other apps, some are excellent for beginners (Headspace/ Calm) So try one that you connect with and let me know what you love!!!!

bottom of page